Inner strength vs. Outward appearance..


God bless you, today I’m going to write you out of the topic “My inner strength vs. My outward appearance. Actually it is the story of Samson and Delilah that is being told in Judges 16: 1-22, 28-30. This topic has been on my heart since the year 2015 (in which my mother past away). I remember asking her to do a sermon together on this but her physical strength was not enough. Though she was tired she was constantly praying for me. I caught her one time in her final days calling, I thought she was calling for me, but when the morphine had worn out she could say some extra words and she would say, I’m praying for you because you are going to be alone. Though she was looking tired on the outside her inner strength kept her.

In the text of Judges 16 we can read about Samson. Some facts about Samson;

  • he was a Nazarite (Numbers 6) meaning he was separated from birth to do the work of the Lord. / Judges 13:7
  • he needed to abstain from wine grapes, with every production of the vine and from every kind of intoxicating drink (vinegar). Numbers 6:3-4 / Judges 13:4
  • during the entire period of their Nazirite vow, no razor may be used on their head. They must be holy until the period of their dedication to the Lord is over; they must let their hair grow long. Numbers 6:5 / Judges 13:5
  • he was forbidden to approach any dead body, even that of his nearest relation Numbers 6:6
  • he had an weakness for woman –> Delilah

Delilah was an asset of the Philistines rulers, she had to see if she can lure Samson into showing her the secret of his great strength and how they could overpower him so they may tie him up and subdue him. Each one of the Philistines rulers would give her eleven hundred shekels of silver. (Judges 16:5)

You see you need to know your weakness to abstain from it, walk away. If you know certain people are not good for you (intoxicating), don’t stay and try to work them. Before you know it they will be controlling you as for in the story of Samson and Delilah.

Four times Delilah asked him how he could be subdued. For the first three times she tested him and proved that he was not telling the truth. But as for Samson he could have been wiser in walking away after the first three times after being tested in what he answered Delilah but he had stayed.

  • First time: Judges 16: 6-7
  • Second time: Judges 16: 10-11
  • Third time: Judges 16: 12-13
  • Fourth time: Judges 16: 15-18

Often we find ourself in the same spot as Samson, we stay try to work it and after a while we are so worn out of our strength, we are just drained by a toxic relationship. The fourth time Samson poured his heart out, and told Delilah everything. Delilah manipulate him by using the following words “How can you say, ‘I love you,’ when you won’t confide in me?” 

After confiding Delilah the secret of his heart Delilah put him to sleep on her lap, she called for someone to shave off the seven braids of his hair, and so began to subdue him. And his strength left him. If you don’t walk away before you know it your are being controlled. Than the text continues in vs. 20-21

20 Then she called, “Samson, the Philistines are upon you!” He awoke from his sleep and thought, “I’ll go out as before and shake myself free.” But he did not know that the Lord had left him. 21 Then the Philistines seized him, gouged out his eyes and took him down to Gaza. Binding him with bronze shackles, they set him to grinding grain in the prison.

Samson is now being taken as prisoner, but here comes the good part. In verse 22 the bible says that the hair on his head began to grow again after it had been shaved. There is a very familiar text in the bible that says let the weak say that they are strong. In his weakness Samson became strong, as his hair was growing back on. Samson prayed to God in vs.28 and asked God to renew his strength, just once more, and to let him with one blow get revenge on the Philistines for his two eyes. And the Lord heard his prayers.

A years ago almost a year and a half I walked away from a toxic relationship, it cost me twice the strength to pull it. I say twice the strength because I tried leaving once before with no success but words kept me longer than intended.. I knew staying wasn’t going to please God, it was not good for my marriage, it wasn’t good for my family, so I decided that I was just going to walk away from it without looking back on what it could be. I shared part of this story in an earlier post (2016) around the time of my divorce trial. But God is faithful, He has mend me and my husband together, the relationship that used to be is now stronger than before with a three strands cord. (Ecclesiastes 4:12) For this testimony read: https://shainadomitilia.wordpress.com/2016/08/22/rebuilding-is-a-process

judges16

The text ends saying in verse 30 “ Samson said, “Let me die with the Philistines!” Then he pushed with all his might, and down came the temple on the rulers and all the people in it. Thus he killed many more when he died than while he lived.”

He killed more Philistines than while he lived. In these days we need to set our own desires aside, we need to submit and seek the Lord for new direction in our lives. Our fleshly side has to die so we can be resurrected with Jesus as He was resurrected from the dead after dying for our sins.

I hope this writing blessed you as it did me.

Greetings,

Shaina Li Domitilia-Margaritha

Leave a Reply

